Mid-Year Freak-Out Book Tag

Copy of Copy of again, but better

I am seriously in so much disbelief that it’s June already? Like, it feels like it was February yesterday. Yeah, I’m definitely freaking out; time just goes faster and faster and I don’t like it.

Anyways! I’ve seen this around a couple times and thought it looked fun.

2201106_LI

Best Book You’ve Read So Far

Image result for red, white and royal blueYou’re asking me to choose one book? Okay. I’m gonna say Casey McQuiston’s Red, White, and Royal Blue because it was just SO hopeful, funny, and dramatic, with just the right amount of tension between Alex and Henry and a wonderful voice.

Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far

Image result for queen of air and darknessQueen of Air and Darkness was honestly such an amazing end to The Dark Artifices. I was so satisfied by the ending, for the most part – with the exception of my two favourite characters.

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet, But Want To

Image result for the gilded wolvesThere are actually so many of these books because I am awful at actually reading the books I want to read. But The Gilded Wolves is definitely one I want to get to as soon as possible because it sounds like everything I like.

Most Anticipated Release For Second Half of 2019

Image result for ninth houseNINTH HOUSEI would do many, many things for this book, and only a few of them are legal. I honestly keep reading over the excerpt and I’m sucked in every time. Leigh Bardugo’s writing is just *chef kiss*

Biggest Disappointment

Image result for i'm thinking of ending thingsI was massively disappointed by I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid. Usually I have really good luck with adult thrillers because I only read what truly intrigues me, but this was just a total nonsensical mindf*ck I could not get into at all.

Biggest Surprise

Image result for off planet aileen erinOff Planet by Aileen Erin really surprised me because I had been expecting your typical sci-fi, not a brutal survival story with a heroine who fights tooth and nail not for justice but just to keep breathing one more day.

Favourite New Author

Image result for descendant of the craneJoan He and Victoria Lee both absolutely wowed me with Descendant of the Crane and The Fever King respectively! Both have incredible plot and characters and are, in my opinion, two of the most innovative and powerful fantasies that have come out of YA publishing recently. 

Newest Fictional Crush

Being bisexual means I can have two crushes, so my first one is Zoya Nazyalensky from King of Scars – she’s not exactly new, but I hadn’t read the Grisha trilogy until this year and damn was I ever impressed with her. I am. In love.

Alex Claremont-Diaz is my second fictional crush – he’s adorable, okay, and soft? And honestly such a mood?

Newest Favourite Character

Nikolai Lantsov. Obviously. (And Zoya.) Dara Shirazi also made his way into my heart – I just want to give that boy a hug. I really just can’t pick one favourite character of this year.

Book That Made You Cry

Image result for seven husbands of evelyn hugoThe Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid made me sob like a baby, okay. I love books that make me cry, because I’m a masochist or something, so rec your saddest books in the comments ’cause I want to hear about it!

Book That Made You Happy

…but Red, White, and Royal Blue made me cry with happiness.

Favourite Book To Movie Adaptation You Saw This Year

Image result for crazy rich asiansCrazy Rich Asians is the only book to movie adaptation I’ve seen, I think – I don’t really go to the movies often. But I liked it – it was really good as a rom-com movie, and the medium of film really suits the story!

Favourite Blog Post You’ve Written This Year

This was “review” but I changed it shhh. My post about books and musicals is one I really liked though? Mostly because I’m repping two of my favourite things there, and love introducing people to musicals. stan the lightning thief musical.

Most Beautiful Book You Bought So Far This Year

img_2830_polarrI have never seen a book as gorgeous as the Six of Crows UK collector’s edition. I’m in love? I love the character art (FULL COLOR!!!), and I love the cover; I love the red sprayed edges and the different font and aesthetic design of the UK edition. I also love that it took me running around London for three hours by myself, exploring the city, hopping on and off the Tube, talking to people. Yeah, I had a bit of an adventure trying to get this book.

What Books Do You Need To Read By The End of The Year

Hahaha. HAHAHAHA. Don’t even try me on this one. God. I don’t even know, okay?? If I say I’m going to read it by the end of this year, it’ll take me another five years to get to it, so I’m just gonna not jinx myself here.

so tell me some of the books you’re freaking out about! what did i miss reading so far that i should definitely put on my tbr?

sig

12 thoughts on “Mid-Year Freak-Out Book Tag

  1. What a lovely post.. Agree with all your choices.. RWRB is my favorite book too 😍😍

  2. RWRB is def one of my favorite books this year and might end up being my answer for that question when I get around to doing this tag….just SO GOOD. Ugh I also can’t wait another minute for Ninth House! I want it sooo bad. And I also have massive crushes on Alex, Zoya, AND Nikolai, not gonna lie.

  3. I honestly think about Alex and Henry like every day since I’ve read it?? I loved it SO MUCH. And you know what, Leigh Bardugo writes such crushable characters … I have a bit of a crush on Nikolai too, and Nina, so King of Scars was just me making heart eyes at everyone.

  4. “Being bisexual means I can have two crushes” HAHAAHAHA WHAT A MOOD! The book that made me cry pretty much the entire time was The Friend Zone by Abby Jiminez because of the representation, but I’ve seen other people post about crying over the romance. I’m exactly the same about listing what I need to read by the end of the year! I found my list from last year in my bullet journal and it was honestly EMBARRASSING. Great post! ❤

  5. Thanks!
    I definitely need to get on The Friend Zone because I’ve heard a lot about it? And I’ve been reading a lot of adult romance lately so I feel like this is the time. And ugh yeah I know how you feel, I’ve found tweets pledging I’m going to read things from 2 years ago and … I still haven’t read them.

  6. I promised people I’d read Song of Achilles before the end of 2018 and now we’re halfway through 2019 and I’ve read 3 chapters of it lmao. I hope you like The Friend Zone if you decide to pick it up!

  7. I literally can’t wait to read RW&RB along with The Fever King and DOTC. Those are literally the three 2019 releases that I can’t believe I haven’t gotten to yet. And you make Alex and Dara sound like characters who I would want to protect with my whole life. the need to read those books is killing me right now, honestly!

    also, that Six of crows special edition is gorgeous, which is saying something, because the original editions are already so freaking beautiful 😍😍

Leave a comment